Lehigh University logo
Lehigh University logo
Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics
Subhrajit Bhattacharya

Teaching >>
Dynamics (Mech 102, Fall 2016, Lehigh U.)
Aug 18, 2016


Particle dynamics, work-energy, impulse-momentum, impact, systems of particles; kinematics of rigid bodies, kinetics of rigid bodies in plane motion, energy, momentum, eccentric impact.

Course Site:

Course Documents:

Course Schedule:

MECH 102 (Dynamics): Fall 2016 Tentative Schedule
Instructor: Subhrajit Bhattacharya
The topics listed below mentions the section numbers from the 11th Edition of the text book "Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Dynamics" by Beer, Johnston and Cornwell. (table of contents)
[Note: The list of topics in the schedule below is tentative and is subject to change.]






Lecture #
Date Topics
(Past & Tentative)
Comments Notes
1
Mon, Aug 29 11.1


2
Wed, Aug 31 11.2, 11.4

3
Fri, Sep 02 11.4, 11.5




Sun, Sept 4 Last day of web registration / add
4
Mon, Sep 05 11.5, review
Labor day, but classes held as usual.
5
Wed, Sep 07 12.1



Fri, Sep 09 Last day to drop without a 'W'
6
Fri, Sep 09 12.1, 12.2


7
Mon, Sep 12 12.2

8
Wed, Sep 14 12.2, Quiz 1




Fri, Sep 16 Last Day to select OR cancel Pass/Fail
9
Fri, Sep 16 13.1

10
Mon, Sep 19 13.1, 13.2

11
Wed, Sep 21 13.3, 13.4

12
Fri, Sep 23 13.4


13
Mon, Sep 26 14.1, quiz 2


14
Wed, Sep 28 14.1


15
Fri, Sep 30 14.2


16
Mon, Oct 03 15.1

17
Wed, Oct 05 Midterm 1 (in-class)


18
Fri, Oct 07 15.1, 15.2


19
Mon, Oct 10 15.2, 15.3

20
Wed, Oct 12 15.3, 15.4

21
Fri, Oct 14 15.5



Mon, Oct 17 Pacing Break -- No classes
22
Wed, Oct 19 15.5

23
Fri, Oct 21 16.1

24
Mon, Oct 24 16.1, quiz 3


25
Wed, Oct 26 16.1, 16.2


26
Fri, Oct 28 16.2


27
Mon, Oct 31 17.1

28
Wed, Nov 02 Midterm 2 (in-class)

29
Fri, Nov 04 17.1, 17.2


30
Mon, Nov 07 17.2

31
Wed, Nov 09 17.2, 17.3


32
Fri, Nov 11 17.3, 19.1

33
Mon, Nov 14 19.1



Tue, Nov 15 Last Day to withdraw with a "W"
34
Wed, Nov 16 19.1, 19.2, quiz 4


35
Fri, Nov 18 19.2

36
Mon, Nov 21 19.3



Wed, Nov 23 Thanksgiving Break -- No classes


Fri, Nov 25 Thanksgiving Break -- No classes
37
Mon, Nov 28 19.4


38
Wed, Nov 30 19.5, quiz 5
No problem from 19.5

39
Fri, Dec 02 19.4 review


40
Mon, Dec 05 Review (11, 12, 13)


41
Wed, Dec 07 Review (14, 15)




Fri, Dec 09 Last day to withdraw with WP/WF grades
42
Fri, Dec 09 Review  (16, 17, 19)
Last day of class


Mon, Dec 12 Study Period  +  Optional Review / Consultation



Tue, Dec 13
Final exam (4:00pm - 6:00pm) in PA 466
[More details at http://www.lehigh.edu/registrar/cal_sched/cal_sched.html ]









teaching mechanical

short URL: