Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Home > News > Dr. Angela Brown wins the prestigious CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation

Dr. Angela Brown wins the prestigious CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation

Dr. Angela Brown, the P. C. Rossin Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, has won a five year $500,000 CAREER award from the National Science Foundation for her project entitled "CAREER: Targeting Virulence Factor Delivery for the Development of Antibacterial Agents".

The NSF CAREER award program is considered one of the most prestigious awards from NSF in support of junior faculty members who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research. Each award provides stable support at the level of approximately $500,000 for a five year period.

This 5 year award will allow Dr. Brown and her students to develop new approaches to the treatment of bacterial infections and to improve antibiotic stewardship. Additionally, Dr. Brown plans extensive outreach activities to demonstrate in a fun, hands-on manner, the danger of misusing antibiotics. Dr. Brown intends to integrate the research goals with her educational goals by developing new courses at Lehigh University, providing undergraduate and graduate research opportunities, and developing a program for local Girl Scout troops to learn about STEM fields.

Dr. Brown joined the department in January 2014 after an extended postdoctoral appointment at the University of Pennsylvania in the School of Dental Medicine. Her postdoctoral research at UPenn was supported by two highly competitive NIH grants – the NIH Individual Postdoctoral Fellowship (F32) grant (2010-2012) and the NIH Pathway to Independence (K99/R00) grant (2012-2013). Her research at Lehigh has been supported by the independent phase of her NIH Pathway to Independence grant (R00).

Related Content

professor Angela Brown

Professor Angela Brown of the CHBE Department is one of this year's NSF CAREER Award winners.