College Home > News & Events > Faculty & Programs > Lehigh ISE honored for excellence in field

ISE department recognized for excellence, returns the favor to students and alumni

For the second year in a row, the Enterprise Systems Center (ESC) and the department of industrial and systems engineering (ISE) have received one of the top honors in the field of operations research. ESC and ISE were recently selected as one of three finalists for the UPS George D. Smith Prize awarded by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS). The Smith Prize, offered for the first time last year, was established to strengthen ties between industry and the schools of higher education that graduate young practitioners of operations research.

The department’s annual banquet, which occurred on the heels of this announcement, proved to be the perfect venue to celebrate the award and to and recognize outstanding contributions from students, faculty, and alumni alike. J. Robert Baum ’64, a professor of entrepreneurship at the University of Maryland, received the 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award. A member of Lehigh’s Healthcare Systems Engineering Industry Leadership Council, Baum has been chairman of the board of Highmark Inc. since 2005 and was the company’s acting CEO in 2012.

Ralph E. Gomory, a New York University research professor and a founding contributor to the field of integer programming, was the department’s 2013 Spencer C. Schantz ’55 Distinguished Lecturer at the banquet. The lecture series is named for the late Spencer C. Schantz, who earned a B.S. in industrial engineering from Lehigh and later founded U.S. Controls Corporation. The series was established by Schantz’s wife, Jerelyn.

Robert Storer, professor of industrial and systems engineering, won the faculty member of the year award for the third consecutive time, as voted by the department’s students.

Key Links:

Dan Frangopol

Renowned NYU research professor Ralph E. Gomory was the 2013 Spencer C. Schantz 55 Distinguished Lecturer at this year's banquet.

Dan Frangopol

J. Robert Baum 64 (left), a professor of entrepreneurship at the University of Maryland and recipient of the 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award.

Dan Frangopol

ISE department chair Tamas Terlaky (center) with ISE alumni Ravi Kulasekaran '88G (left) and George Snow '81.