Accolades Fall 2012

Above: Shamim Pakzad's students are benefiting from an IMAGINE grant he recently won for his lab. Top right: John Archibald,'13 and Hannah Stabolepszy,'13 display their awards for academic excellence. Bottom right: Muhannad Suleiman and Kristen Jellison prepare to enter Packer Chapel on Founder's Day 2012.


Awards, honorable mentions and great accomplishments of our CEE faculty and students

Clay Naito is leading the first phase of an NSF-funded study of the forces generated when a tsunami sweeps up a truck or shipping vessel and hurls it against a structure. In this video, Clay describes his research and what he learned from his NSF research team's visit to review the devastation caused in northeastern Japan by the March 2012 Tohoku tsunami.

John Archibald, '13, was Lehigh's first recipient of a $3,000 dedicated scholarship awarded by the Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute Education & Research Foundation. The program awards six scholarships to high-achieving students at top engineering schools, one in each of the CRSI regions.

Hannah Stabolepszy, '13, was the 2012 Lehigh recipient of the $1,000 Moles Student Award. Each year, The Moles association recognizes students from its participating universities that show outstanding effort in working toward a career in construction engineering and management.

Environmental engineering was well-represented at Lehigh's Founder's Day 2012 celebration. Kristen Jellison was awarded a Class of '61 professorship; Muhannad Suleiman was named a P.C. Rossin Assistant Professor; and John Fox was introduced as a new faculty member. Rick Weisman and Jerry Lennon served in official capacities as university marshal and assistant provost, respectively. In addition, environmental engineering student Breanne Ensor, '14, sang in the Lehigh University Choir at the October 19th event.

A paper by Dan Frangopol and Ph.D. students Alberto Decò and Nader Okasha, '10PhD, was cited and archived as one of 2011's best by The Society of Naval Architects & Marine Engineers.

Frangopol and Okasha received honors for their work in October. At the Third International Symposium of Life-Cycle Civil Engineering in Vienna, Frangopol was awarded the Fazlur R. Khan Life-Cycle Civil Engineering Medal for his significant contributions to and strong leadership in life-cycle engineering. At the same event, Okasha, now an assistant professor at the University of Hail, Saudi Arabia, received the IALCCE Junior Research Award. The pair also was awarded the Wellington Prize at the 142nd ASCE Annual Conference in Montreal.

Frangopol ASCE award

Dan Frangopol receives the Arthur M. Wellington Prize from ASCE President Andrew W. Herrmann, P.E., SECB, F.ASCE, and Executive Director Patrick J. Natale, P.E.,F.ASCE, October 19, 2012. Photo by David Hathcox/ASCE.

Campbell Scientific awarded Shamim Pakzad an IMAGINE Grant to equip his sensing technology lab for hands-on learning. The grant was used to acquire a state-of-the-art data acquisition system and various sensors that are enhancing the educational and research experience of both undergraduate and graduate students.

Professor emeritus John W. Fisher was featured on "Steel Profiles," a podcast sponsored by the American Institute of Steel Construction.

M.Eng. in Structural Engineering student Jose Hernandez was awarded a $5,000 scholarship by the Thornton Tomasetti Foundation.

Clay Naito was awarded the George D. Nasser Award for his paper, "Effect of Environmental Conditions of Field Welding of Precast Concrete Connections," which appeared in the Spring 2012 issue of PCI Journal. The award recognizes authors who are 40 years of age or younger. Richard Sause is a co-author of the paper.

Stephen Pessiki was one of three plenary speakers invited to the 2012 International Conference on Civil, Offshore, and Environmental Engineering (ICCOEE) in Kuala Lampur.

The Advanced Technology for Large Structural Systems (ATLSS) Engineering Research Center has received funding from the Pennsylvania Infrastructure Technology Alliance for fiscal year 2013.

The student team of Dan Foiles, Matt Fustine and Jeremy Corrigan won $1,000 for placing first in the 2012 PCI Engineering Student Design Competition (also known as "The Big Beam Competition.") A second student team, comprised of You Dong, Robert Stroup and Sonam Srivastava, won $500 for placing second. Both teams were advised by Clay Naito.

A short span-bridge based on a design concept developed at ATLSS earned a merit award in the National Steel Bridge Alliance 2012 Prize Bridge Awards Competition. Engineered by Michael Baker, Inc., PennDOT, and ATLSS, the bridge demonstrates the tubular flange bridge girder developed by Richard Sause and his students with funding by the Federal Highway Administration.

Sause and Students

Richard Sause and students Haiying Ma, left, and Kayla Hampe discuss the instrumentation used during a test of steel bridge girders with tubular flanges, one similar to those used in the demonstration bridge.