College Home > News & Events > Faculty & Programs > Optics honors for ECE faculty

Optics honors for ECE faculty

Two of Lehigh’s faculty in electrical and computer engineering, Alastair McAulay and Yujie Ding, have recently received significant recognition in the field of optics.

Ding has been elevated to the designation of Fellow in the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for his contributions to high terahertz power generators. Recently, Ding and his colleague Jacob Khurgin of Johns Hopkins have achieved the most favorable ratio to date between opposing types of light-scattering phenomena that occur in semiconducting materials, which could lead to smaller, lighter and cheaper communication devices with faster switching times, increased output and higher operating voltages. Ding is also a Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA) and has been a part of Lehigh's faculty since 2002.

McAulay has been elected as a Fellow of the OSA for "pioneering research in optical networks, optical computing architectures, advanced photonic components, MEMs-based parallel switching and spatial light re-broadcasted optical computing cells." McAulay has written two books, 150 papers, 30 research contracts and grants about optics and received 5 US patents in the past 3 decades. McAulay has been a member of the Lehigh faculty since 1992, and is a Fellow of SPIE and senior member of IEEE.

Key Links:

Laser beam photo