College Home > News & Events > Faculty & Programs > Serious recognition

Serious recognition

Several senior faculty members in chemical engineering have recently been named to the highest honors bestowed by their respective fields' most prestigious professional societies. Professor Mayuresh Kothare was elevated to rank of Fellow by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the world’s largest professional association devoted to advancing technological innovation. Kothare, cited by IEEE for “contributions to multivariable constrained control systems and model predictive control,” is also one of just two new IEEE fellows who are chemical engineers. Professor Tony McHugh was notified of his election as Fellow in the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), the highest grade of membership granted by the organization. According to the official AIChE notification, the Grade of Fellow is a special category of membership, reserved for senior Institute members who have displayed significant service to the organization and the profession, and who have achieved significant accomplishments in the field. Professor William Luyben was also honored by AIChE, for outstanding contributions in the field of distillation, at its 2011 conference in Minneapolis. Earlier in 2011, Professor Israel Wachs was named as Fellow of the American Chemical Society for achievements in hydrocarbon and petroleum chemistry.

Highest Honors

Professors Anthony McHugh, Mayuresh Kothare, and William Luyben (clockwise, from top).